August 25, 2016


ACPC Award for Excellence in Education

The Association of Chairs of Psychiatry in Canada (ACPC) award recognizes individuals who have made a significant and sustained contribution to education in psychiatry.



This award is intended for individuals whose work has been widely recognized for at least three years. Nominees should have made a significant and sustained contribution to education in one or more categories:
• active teaching: lectures, small-group teaching, resident seminars, journal club, etc.
• clinical supervision of undergraduates and residents
• supervision of graduate students, postgraduate fellows, and other research students
• guidance or supervision of thesis students
• participation in community educational activities
• supervision of and participation in the examination processes of the nominee's department, university or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
• development of new evaluation strategies and techniques
• course development and innovative teaching programs
• writing course notebooks, textbooks or teaching handbooks
• development of new pedagogy
• contribution to continuing medical education
• academic management of teaching programs at the hospital level through teaching, coordination of students and residents, or centralized specialty
• publications of research on teaching strategies
• publications on education

Nomination Procedure

Only one candidate may be nominated by each department of psychiatry. Only academic departments in good standing with ACPC may make submissions. Re-entries are considered when supported by the required documentation.

The submitted nominations should include
• letter of nomination;
• letters of support from colleagues and program coordinators;
• evaluations by the Department or Faculty;
• student evaluations;
• testimonials from former students;
• invited lectures;
• peer-reviewed articles;
• curriculum vitae.

One electronic copy of the complete application must be submitted to the Chairperson of ACPC/ADDPC by May 1 of each year.

Send nominations to
Chairperson, Association of Chairs of Psychiatry in Canada
c/o Ms. Kate Porter
Tel: 902-473-2470


A small panel of ACPC/ADDPC members will review the submissions received from each academic centre and will decide the winner of the current year. • The award, along with a cheque for $1000, will be presented to the recipient during the annual meeting of the Canadian Psychiatric Association.

Back to Awards Table of Contents

Questions or comments about our site? Please contact us at
The Canadian Psychiatric Association, Copyright 2001-2012