Psychiatrists recognize outstanding contributions to mental health at their Annual Conference

Psychiatrists recognize outstanding contributions to mental health at their Annual Conference

—October 3, 2015, Vancouver—

Last night the Canadian Psychiatric Association (CPA) recognized exceptional psychiatrists, psychiatric residents and individuals for their contributions to the mental health of Canadians.

Dr. Ronald Fraser from Truro, Nova Scotia, was awarded the CPA C.A. Roberts Award for Clinical Leadership for the significant improvements he has brought to patient care by transforming the addictions and borderline personality disorder service at Halifax’s Capital District Health Authority. His accomplishments include the development of an integrated, evidence-based model of addictions and mental health care, and the successful implementation of a structured psychotherapy program to treat individuals with borderline personality disorders, a model he first developed at the McGill University Health Centre.

Dr. Raymond Lam from Vancouver, British Columbia, received the CPA J.M. Cleghorn Award for Excellence and Leadership in Clinical Research for his research into the clinical and neurobiological factors in seasonal, treatment-resistant and workplace depression, which has had a significant impact on contemporary psychiatric practice, nationally and internationally. His clear vision and leadership in advancing evidence-based practice in the field of mood disorders are in keeping with the high standards set by Dr. J.M. Cleghorn. Dr. Lam has mentored a new generation of clinician-scientists, ensuring a strong future for this field of research.

Dr. Anthony Levinson from Hamilton, Ontario, was recognized with the CPA Paul Patterson Innovation in Education Leadership Award for his creative and innovative leadership in developing a breadth of sophisticated e-learning initiatives that adopt cutting-edge technology to advance medical and psychiatric education from the MD curriculum to public education, reaching beyond traditional university borders to a broad audience.

R.O. Jones Awards for Best Papers
Dr. KaWai Leong from Coquitlam, British Columbia, received 1st Place, for his paper, Somatic Treatments for Somatic Symptom and Related Disorders: A Case Series on the Use of Electroconvulsive Therapy.

Dr. Ron Remick from Vancouver, British Columbia, received 2nd Place for his paper, Exercise as Medicine: A Pilot Project Using Group Medical Visits to Promote Physical Activity in Patients With Chronic Depression and Anxiety.

Dr. Bianca Lauria-Horner from Halifax, Nova Scotia, received 3rd Place for her paper, Skill-Based Approaches, Effective in Reducing Stigma in Health Professionals.

2015 CPA Annual Conference Best Poster Awards
Dr. Pedro Zuzarte of Sudbury, Ontario, received 1st place, for his poster, Decreased Hippocampal Subfield Volumes in Bipolar Disorder is Associated With Depressive Episodes and Oxidative Stress.

Dr. Tara Riddell of Halifax, Nova Scotia received 2nd Place for her poster, Beyond The Body: Using Social Media Platforms as an Educational Resource on Mental Health and Psychiatry for Medical Students.

Christine Leong from Winnipeg, Manitoba received 3rd Place, for her poster, Hospitalization Rates and Level of Morbidity in Older Adults Receiving a New Antidepressant and Sedative-Hypnotic Prescription in Manitoba (1997 to 2013).

Distinguished Fellows of the CPA and Fellows of the CPA
On Friday morning, at its Annual General Meeting, the CPA inducted the 2015 Distinguished Fellows of the CPA and Fellows of the CPA. The honour of Distinguished Fellow of the CPA was bestowed upon CPA member psychiatrists Dr. Stephen Kisely and Dr. Bruce Pollock. CPA members Dr. Patrick Conlon, Dr. Nicholas Delva, Dr. Raed Hawa, Dr. Diana Kljenak, Dr. Paul Mulzer, Dr. Sanjeev Sockalingam and Dr. Michael Teehan received the designation of Fellow of the CPA.

Other psychiatric organizations also recognized the excellent work of their colleagues during the CPA Annual Conference:

Alex Leighton Joint CPA-Canadian Academy of Psychiatric Epidemiology Award in Psychiatric Epidemiology
Dr. Stephen Kisely

Association of Chairs of Psychiatry Award for Excellence in Education
Dr. Raed Hawa

Association of Chairs of Psychiatry Annual Research Award
Dr. Alex McGirr

Association of Chairs of Psychiatry Award for Creative Professional Activity
Dr. Tony Pignatiello

The Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry for Outstanding Contributions in Geriatric Psychiatry
Dr. Paule Hottin

Canadian Organization of Undergraduate Psychiatric Educators Award for Best Paper by a Medical Student
Natasha Fernandes of Thornhill, Ontario, for her paper, Dignity Therapy Within a Mood Inpatient Population.

Coordinators of Postgraduate Education Examination Award
Dr. Claire Fantus

Coordinators of Postgraduate Education Resident Award for Best Paper
Dr. Barinder Singh of Vancouver, British Columbia, for her paper, The Use of Literature in Medical Education – A CanMEDS Perspective.

The Canadian Psychiatric Association is the national voice for Canada’s 4,700 psychiatrists and more than 900 psychiatric residents. Founded in 1951, the CPA is dedicated to promoting an environment that fosters excellence in the provision of clinical care, education and research.